Nipper to President

It is with great pleasure Coalcliff SLSC announces the election of 28 year old Leo Stevens as our President for the 2016 -2017 Surf Life Saving season.

The 1994 – 1995 Season was young Leo Stevens first season at Coalcliff, accompanying his older sister Toni dad Rod Stevens and mum Rosemary Thompson, previously of Stanwell Park. I wonder if Rod and Rosemary ever thought their son would go onto be Coalcliff’s first President to have come up through the Nipper ranks and our youngest President.

The family of four have all been active Patrol members, all achieved their Bronze Medallions. Rod also gaining Silver Medallion IRB Driver, IRB Crew and Advanced Resuscitation Certificates. Rosemary was an outstanding ocean swimmer competiting in Masters events.

Leo has been an active patrol member since 2006. Patrol Captain and has stood in as Club Captain during Rob Deacon’s holidays. He has been busy over the years improving his Surf Life Saving skills gaining the following awards: 

Gold Medallion (Advanced Lifesaving)

IRB Crew Certificate

Operate and maintain a personal water craft for rescue operations

Rescue Water Craft Operator Certificate

Silver Medallion Advanced Emergency Care

Silver Medallion Aquatic Rescue

Silver Medallion Basic Beach Management

Silver Medallion IRB Driver

Surf Rescue Certificate

Sadly both Rod and Rosemary passed away far too young. Rosemary Thompson in 2012 and Rodney Stevens in 2009. In recognition of Rod’s service to the Club the inaugural Rod Stevens Memorial Beach to Bridge Paddle commenced in 2010. This is now an annual event. I am sure they would both be very proud of Leo as are the members of Coalcliff SLSC. We look forward to the 2016 – 2017 Season under the guidance of our new young President. 

We also welcome Craig Hall as our Registrar. The election of Office Bearers saw many familiar faces re-elected. Vice President – Barry Allen, Bill McWilliam & Dave Winner, Club Captain Rob Deacon, chief Instructor Dave Winner, Secretary Craig Picker, Treasurer Barry Allen, Nipper Captains Peter Stone & Darren Frederiksen, Gear Steward Peter Cugaly, Powercraft Captain Bill McWilliam, Publicity Officer Jenelle McWilliam, Competition Coordinator Adam McAughey, website Manager Darren Frederiksen, Clothing Coordinator Anne-Maree Connolly, Canteen Coordinator VACANT. Grant Smith decided not to stand for election and we wish Grant and Lyn all the best and thank them for their years of tireless service.

2016 PRESENTATION NIGHT held at Helensburgh Tradies, saw the following major awards were presented:

Patrol of the Year – Adam McAughey’s Patrol 6, Tammy Rae Award – Most Outstanding Member - Peter Stone & Damien Lloyd, Kel Janti Award – Best Active Member – Nicole & Craig Hall, Glen Andrews Award – Most Outstanding Youth Member – Page Penrose & Natasha Deacon, Jim Dalmer Award – Most Outstanding Cadet – Aidan Frederiksen, Lancaster Award – Tries Hardest in Point Score – Peter Cugaly, Barry Allen Perpetual – Most Patrol Hours – Anne-Maree Connolly,

2016-2017 SEASON , Registration for the new season can be done online or during Registration Days.

Fees Active 18+ Membership $45.00 / Family $145.00 / Junior $75.00 /Associate $50.00

Coalcliff would like to thank SLS NSW and the NSW Government for our new IRB Outboard Motor and All-Terrain Vehicle which we received under the Lifesaving Equipment Grant Scheme.